
The workload
A founder selling digital products through Lemon Squeezy is paying to skip the same list a merchant of record absorbs: tax registration and remittance across jurisdictions, fraud screening, chargeback handling and billing support. Verified: Lemon Squeezy's pricing page, retrieved 16 September 2026, states a fee of 5% plus 50 cents per transaction for its ecommerce and merchant-of-record features, and states there are no monthly charges for those features.
What the documents show
Verified: the pricing page describes the fee as covering global VAT and sales tax collection and filing, an automated fraud-assessment system, abandoned-cart and failed-payment recovery, and billing support. The page also carries a note reading '2026 Update: Lemon Squeezy + Stripe Managed Payments', reflecting that Lemon Squeezy is now a Stripe-owned product. Lemon Squeezy's own announcement of the acquisition, published 26 July 2024 and retrieved 16 September 2026, confirms Stripe acquired the company and states the product would continue delivering the same reliability customers were using. A later post, Lemon Squeezy's 2025 integration update, retrieved 16 September 2026, states that Stripe Managed Payments, a merchant-of-record experience built directly into Stripe, entered private preview in summer 2025. The fee figure matches Paddle's published rate, but the pages describe covered scope in slightly different language, so the two should not be assumed to price an identical bundle merely because the headline percentage matches.
The operating cost
Verified: the cost is 5% plus 50 cents, in US dollars, per transaction, with no separate monthly subscription for the ecommerce and merchant-of-record tier, as the pricing page states it on 16 September 2026. Neither the pricing page nor the acquisition announcement discloses Lemon Squeezy's standalone revenue or transaction volume at the time of the deal, and the announcement states plainly that financial terms were not disclosed.
The stop condition
This is editorial: because the pricing page itself flags Stripe Managed Payments as a transaction-level alternative to a full merchant-of-record account, a seller already processing through Stripe directly has a documented reason to revisit whether the blended fee remains the cheapest path once that alternative reaches general availability, rather than assuming today's rate is permanent.
- Has Stripe Managed Payments reached general availability, and does it change the fee structure described here?
- Does the founder's tax-registration burden actually require full merchant-of-record coverage, or only a calculation layer?
- Would splitting products between direct Stripe processing and Lemon Squeezy's merchant-of-record tier lower the blended cost?
The fee is stable and disclosed; what has changed is who owns the company charging it, and that ownership change is itself worth tracking against the product's roadmap.
Sources & reading trail
States the 5% plus 50 cent fee, what it covers, and the 2026 note pointing to Stripe Managed Payments.
Source published: Not established · Retrieved: 16 September 2026
Confirms the Stripe acquisition, its date, and that financial terms were not disclosed.
Source published: 26 July 2024 · Retrieved: 16 September 2026
States Stripe Managed Payments entered private preview in summer 2025 as a transaction-level merchant-of-record product.
Source published: 29 April 2025 · Retrieved: 16 September 2026
Vendor documentation, regulator records and founder-published documents establish the entry; the workload reading and the stop condition are Solo Product Office editorial analysis. This retrospective draft does not imply the site published on the event date.